Author Topic: Recording Clock Time  (Read 5773 times)

mattparker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Recording Clock Time
« on: January 08, 2015, 09:38:42 AM »
I'm looking for a way to add clock time to a service.  IE...depth, clock time, tension, elapsed time....

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

kmilch

  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Recording Clock Time
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2015, 09:55:21 AM »
For local time, add a LOCTIM sensor to your service:

LOCTIM=BASE,ELTIM

For UTC time, add a UTCTIM sensor to your service:

UTCTIM=BASE,ELTIM

New outputs will be generated with the same name and will only plot as Tabular.
The actual value recorded will be time in seconds since 1/1/1970.

mattparker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Recording Clock Time
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2015, 10:15:23 AM »
Thanks for the help.

when I add the sensor LOCTIM=BASE,ELTIM to the service a "sensor syntax error" is thrown when launching the service.

And when you say the actual value recorded will be in seconds since 1-1-1970, I wont output an .las with HH:MM:SS but rather an accumulation of seconds totaling in the billions?

kmilch

  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Recording Clock Time
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2015, 08:06:10 AM »
Use whatever device you have mapped to your ELTIM instead of BASE.

LAS will display time like this: "17 Nov 2014 10:46:35"

mattparker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Recording Clock Time
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2015, 03:53:43 PM »
Ok, mostly good.  The tabular listing on the log displays the time as HH:mm:ss, but in the las shows the seconds elapsed since 1-1-1970.  Is there any way to easily fix this short of running the .las through excell and correcting this?

Thanks
Matt

mattparker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Recording Clock Time
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2015, 04:06:15 PM »
Following some more google research on my own, it appears this time format is known as Epoch time.  I've found a utility that will convert these to "human" time.  Should I need to proceed down this route or is there an easier way to have Warrior output in Human time?

mattparker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Recording Clock Time
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2015, 11:01:12 AM »
Any further suggestions?

kmilch

  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Recording Clock Time
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2015, 12:41:55 PM »
Warrior LAS export should be writing out LOCTIM and UTCTIM with the format    dd mmm yyyy hh:mm:ss.  If you are still using Warrior 7, try using ExportEx.exe from your warrior\bin folder.